Mining site

Tshala 52

Tshala 52 is a site of the Ministry of Mines’ 2025 list of artisanal and small-scale copper and cobalt sites (CARTOMINES) in Mutshatsha territory, Lualaba, recorded as active at its evaluation of 1 April 2025, with copper and cobalt as the mineral worked, on title PE 8841. It is also listed in IPIS’s open data (visit of 8 October 2020 for BGR’s project).

Evidence of commodities

site-specific copper and cobalt

Location and title

Arrow keys move the map; the plus and minus keys zoom.
  • Approximate location: Tshala 52 (CARTOMINES)

    Why it is approximate: Reported for Tshala 52 at the list’s evaluation of 1 April 2025; it is not established as an individual working, a site centroid, a title boundary, or a current operating location.

    Reported coordinate
    10.66193° S · 25.42855° E
    Precision
    Site-level coordinate reported by CARTOMINES; the datum and point-collection method are not stated.
    Evidence as of
    1 April 2025
    Coordinate reference system
    Unstated in the source

    Sites d'exploitation artisanale et à petite échelle du cuivre et cobalt en 2025 ↗Ministère des Mines de la RDC

  • Approximate location: Tshala 52 (IPIS)

    Why it is approximate: Recorded for Tshala 52 at a visit of 8 October 2020 for BGR’s project; it is not established as an individual working, a site centroid, a title boundary, or a current operating location.

    Reported coordinate
    10.66300° S · 25.42799° E
    Precision
    Coordinate of IPIS’s open data, whose “location_origin” field reads “GPS”; the datum is not stated.
    Evidence as of
    8 October 2020
    Coordinate reference system
    Unstated in the source

    Open data, DR Congo (cod_mines_curated_all_opendata_p_ipis.csv) ↗IPIS

See the site on the mining-sites map →
Reported mining title
PE 8841
Mining-title holders
Gécamines

Connections

Reported means the cited source describes the relationship at its evidence date. Historical relationships refer to an earlier period. Announced agreements may not have been implemented. None of these labels confirms that trade continues today.

Mining-title holders

  • GécaminesProducer

Sources

Sources support the description and the individual connections below. Publication and checking dates belong to the evidence: when it was published, and when this Hub last read it.

12 sources

Cadastre Minier (CAMI)

  1. Registre des droits miniers et de carrières au 31 mars 2026 ↗

    Published May 2026 · Checked 1 October 2026

    EN COURS DE CESSION PARTIELLE

    Biwaya-related title rows: printed p.20 row 542 (PE 2605), p.30 row 1041 (PER 9687), p.33 row 1146 (PE 11229). Kamilombe-related rows remain in additionalLocators.

CTCPM

  1. Mining-Data warehouse – Contrats miniers ↗

    Checked 24 September 2026

    Les contrats de base Les avenants et annexes Les statistiques des contrats

    Contracts menu; "Partenariats RDC-CHINE / -UE / -USA / -CANADA / -RSA"; "Liste des ZEA"; "Coopératives minières"; "La dotation de 0,3% du CA".

  2. CONVENTION DE PARTENARIAT ENTRE LA GECAMINES SA ET HONGKONG EXCELLEN MINING INVESTMENT CO LIMITED ET KIK MINING SASU RELATIVE A L'EXPLOITATION COMMERCIALE ET AU PARTAGE DE LA PRODUCTION DES GISEMENTS DE KINGAMYAMBO ET KILAMUSEMBO ↗

    Checked 15 October 2026

    LA GÉNÉRALE DES CARRIÈRES ET DES MINES ; HONGKONG EXCELLEN MINING INVESTMENT CO., LTD ; KIK MINING SASU

    Contract “N° 1791/9328/SG/GC/2018”, dated 3 December 2018, PDF p.1, cover: the parties as printed, read from the page image. Register row 136 (CD/CM/GCM - HKEMI -KIKI MINING), signed 03/12/2018.

  3. CONTRAT D'AMODIATION ENTRE LA GENERALE DES CARRIERES ET DES MINES S.A. ET RUBAMIN SARL RELATIF AUX DROITS MINIERS ATTACHES AUX PERIMETRES DE RESPECTIVEMENT 11 (ONZE) CARRES DU GISEMENT DE KAKIFULUWE COUVERTS PAR LE PE 8841 (PARTIELLEMENT) ET 8 (HUIT) CARRES DU GISEMENT DE KAKONGE COUVERTS PAR LE PE 537 (PARTIELLEMENT) DE GECAMINES S.A. ↗

    Checked 15 October 2026

    LA GENERALE DES CARRIERES ET DES MINES S.A. ; RUBAMIN SARL

    Contract “N° 1818/7139/SG/GC/2019”, dated June 2019, PDF p.1, cover: the parties as printed, read from the page image. Register row 160 (CD/CM/GCM - RUBAMIN), signed 07/06/2019.

  4. CONTRAT D'AMODIATION ENTRE LA GENERALE DES CARRIERES ET DES MINES S.A. ET LA SOCIETE LUILU RESSOURCES SAS RELATIF A L'AMODIATION DE DROIT D'USAGE DE LA SURFACE DE CINQ (5) CARRES COUVERTS PAR LE PE 8841 DE GECAMINES S.A ↗

    Checked 15 October 2026

    LA GENERALE DES CARRIERES ET DES MINES S.A. ; SOCIETE LUILU RESSOURCE SAS

    Contract “N° 1774/9308/SG/GC/2018”, dated October 2018, PDF p.1, cover: the parties as printed, read from the page image. Register row 162 (CD/CM/GCM - LUILU RESSOURCES SAS), signed 10/12/2018.

  5. CONTRAT D'AMODIATION DES DROITS ET TITRES MINIERS AFFERENTS AUX PERIMETRES COUVERTS PAR LES POLYGONES DE KINGAMYAMBO ET DE KILAMUSEMBO MATERIALISES PAR LES PE 11600 ET 8841 DE LA GECAMINES ↗

    Checked 15 October 2026

    LA GÉNÉRALE DES CARRIÈRES ET DES MINES S.A. ; KINGA-KILA MINING (sigle KIK MINING SASU)

    Contract (no number printed), PDF p.1, parties clause (“ENTRE (1) … (2) …”): the parties as printed, read from the page image. Register row 19 (CD/CM/GCM - KIK MINING SASU), signed 03/12/2018.

  6. CONTRAT D AMODIATION ENTRE LA GENERALE DES CARRIERES ET DES MINES SA ET EVELYNE INVESTISSEMENT SAU RELATIF AUX DROITS MINIERS ATTACHES AUX PERIMETRES DES REJETS DE MUPINE SUD, DE MUPINE NORD (NORD KOV), DIKULUWE NORD, DIKULUWE SUD, ET POTOPOTO COUVERTS PAR LES PER 9687, 9685 ET 9683 ET LES PE 8841 ET 11229 DE GECAMINES SA ↗

    Checked 15 October 2026

    LA GENERALE DES CARRIERES ET DES MINES S.A. ; EVELYNE INVESTISSEMENT SAU

    Contract “N° 1772/9306/SG/GC/2018”, dated November 2018, PDF p.1, cover and parties clause: the parties as printed, read from the page image. Register row 209 (CD/CM/GCM - EVELYNE INVESTISSEMENT - AMODIATION), signed 30/11/2018.

  7. CONVENTION DE JOINT-VENTURE AMENDEE, CONSOLIDEE ET REFORMULEE ENTRE LA GENERALE DES CARRIERES ET DES MINES ET KFL LTD, GLOBAL ENTERPRISES CORPORATE LTD ET EN PRESENCE DE SIMCO ET KCC SARL, KATANGA MINING HOLDING LTD ET KATANGA MINING FINANCE LTD ET DRC COPPER AND COBALT SARL ET KML (BVI) HOLDCO LTD RELATIVE, EN PARTICULIER, A L'EXPLOITATION DES MINES DE KAMOTO, DE MASHAMBA , DE KOV NORD, DE TILWEZEMBE, DE KANANGA ET DE T17 ET A LA LOCATION DES EQUIPEMENTS ET INSTALLATIONS LOUES DONT LE CONCENTRATEUR DE KAMOTO (KTC) ET LES USINES HYDROMETALLURGIQUES ET D'ELECTRO-RAFFINAGE DE LUILU ↗

    Checked 15 October 2026

    LA GENERALE DES CARRIERES ET DES MINES ; KFL LIMITED (ANCIENNEMENT DENOMMEE KINROSS-FORREST LTD) ; GLOBAL ENTERPRISES CORPORATE LTD

    Contract “N° 1014/19238/SG/GC/2009”, PDF p.1, cover: the parties as printed, read from the page image. Register row 235 (CD/CM/GCM -KFL - GEC LTD - JV), signed 25/07/2009.

  8. CONTRAT ENTRE LA GECAMINES SARL ET LA SICOMINES SARL RELATIF A L'AMODIATION PARTIELLE DES DROITS ATTACHES AU PE 11599 POUR L'ERECTION D'UN SITE DES REMBLAIS, AU PE 11229 POUR L'INSTALLATION D'UN DYNAMITIERE ET AU PE 8841 POUR LE STOCKAGE DES REJETS ↗

    Checked 15 October 2026

    LA GENERALE DES CARRIERES ET DES MINES SARL ; LA SINO-CONGOLAISE DES MINES SARL

    Contract “N° 1439/15759/SG/GC/2014”, dated September 2014, PDF p.1, cover: the parties as printed, read from the page image. Register row 34 (CD/CM/GCM - SICOMINES - AP), signed 15/09/2014.

  9. CONTRAT DE JV ENTRE LA GECAMINES ET PLATMIN CONGO LTD POUR L'EXPLOITATION DES POLYGONES DE DEZIWA ET DE L'ECAILLE C COUVERTS PAR LES PE 660 ET 8841 - PART 1 ↗

    Checked 15 October 2026

    LA GENERALE DES CARRIERES ET DES MINES ; PLATMIN CONGO LIMITED

    Contract “N° 947/22797/SG/GC/2008”, dated August 2008, PDF p.1, cover: the parties as printed, read from the PDF’s text layer (OCR). Register row 42 (CD/CM/GCM - PLATMIN), signed 19/08/2008.

IPIS

  1. Open data, DR Congo (cod_mines_curated_all_opendata_p_ipis.csv) ↗

    Published May 2026 · Checked 5 October 2026

    While our previous geoserver is offline, you may access our open datasets on the artisanal mining sector through the following direct downloads:

    Open-data table of mine sites, file “cod_mines_curated_all_opendata_p_ipis.csv”, line 5006 (“vid” “5005”): “Tshala 52”, province “Lualaba”, territory “Mutshatsha”, visit of “2020-10-08”, location origin “GPS”, “Cobalt” among its minerals, project “BGR”, source “Third-party”.

Ministère des Mines de la RDC

  1. Sites d'exploitation artisanale et à petite échelle du cuivre et cobalt en 2025 ↗

    Published 2026 · Checked 30 September 2026

    Sites d'exploitation artisanale et à petite échelle du cuivre et cobalt en 2025

    Map layer of the 2025 list of sites, at the address “api.php/sites/geojson” that the page calls; feature “16”: name “Tshala 52”, province “Lualaba”, territory “Mutshatsha”, title “8841” of type “PE”, mineral “Cuivre-Cobalt”, state “Actif” at the evaluation of “2025-04-01”; the feature carries a point.