Mining site

Kimbotela

Kimbotela is a site of the Ministry of Mines’ 2025 list of artisanal and small-scale copper and cobalt sites (CARTOMINES) in Kipushi territory, Haut-Katanga, recorded as active at its evaluation of 1 April 2025, with copper as the mineral worked, on title PE 527. It is also listed in the mapping of de facto artisanal sites by SAEMAPE’s Haut-Katanga directorate, ITIE-RDC’s study of 15 July 2025 and IPIS’s open data (visit of 15 May 2019 for BGR’s project). The 2025 study prints Likasi as its location.

Evidence of commodities

site-specific copper

Location and title

Arrow keys move the map; the plus and minus keys zoom.
  • Approximate location: Kimbotela (CARTOMINES)

    Why it is approximate: Reported for Kimbotela at the list’s evaluation of 1 April 2025; it is not established as an individual working, a site centroid, a title boundary, or a current operating location.

    Reported coordinate
    11.51149° S · 27.45274° E
    Precision
    Site-level coordinate reported by CARTOMINES; the datum and point-collection method are not stated.
    Evidence as of
    1 April 2025
    Coordinate reference system
    Unstated in the source

    Sites d'exploitation artisanale et à petite échelle du cuivre et cobalt en 2025 ↗Ministère des Mines de la RDC

  • Approximate location: KIMBOTELA (SAEMAPE)

    Why it is approximate: The mapping prints “11°30’39,9’’” south and “27°27’15,1’’” east for KIMBOTELA, in a presentation whose file is dated 18 November 2019; it is not established as an individual working, a site centroid, a title boundary, or a current operating location.

    Reported coordinate
    11.51108° S · 27.45419° E
    Precision
    Converted from the degrees, minutes and seconds that the SAEMAPE Haut-Katanga mapping prints; the datum and point-collection method are not stated.
    Evidence as of
    after 2018
    Coordinate reference system
    Unstated in the source

    Cartographie des sites d'exploitation artisanale de fait dans le Haut-Katanga ↗SAEMAPE Haut-Katanga / IDAK

  • Approximate location: Kimbotela (IPIS)

    Why it is approximate: Recorded for Kimbotela at a visit of 15 May 2019 for BGR’s project; it is not established as an individual working, a site centroid, a title boundary, or a current operating location.

    Reported coordinate
    11.51194° S · 27.45278° E
    Precision
    Coordinate of IPIS’s open data, whose “location_origin” field reads “GPS”; the datum is not stated.
    Evidence as of
    15 May 2019
    Coordinate reference system
    Unstated in the source

    Open data, DR Congo (cod_mines_curated_all_opendata_p_ipis.csv) ↗IPIS

See the site on the mining-sites map →
Reported mining title
PE 527
Mining-title holders
ASTIR MINING SAS

Connections

Reported means the cited source describes the relationship at its evidence date. Historical relationships refer to an earlier period. Announced agreements may not have been implemented. None of these labels confirms that trade continues today.

Mining-title holders

Sources

Sources support the description and the individual connections below. Publication and checking dates belong to the evidence: when it was published, and when this Hub last read it.

9 sources

Cadastre Minier (CAMI)

  1. Registre des droits miniers et de carrières au 31 mars 2026 ↗

    Published May 2026 · Checked 1 October 2026

    EN COURS DE CESSION PARTIELLE

    Biwaya-related title rows: printed p.20 row 542 (PE 2605), p.30 row 1041 (PER 9687), p.33 row 1146 (PE 11229). Kamilombe-related rows remain in additionalLocators.

CTCPM

  1. Mining-Data warehouse – Contrats miniers ↗

    Checked 24 September 2026

    Les contrats de base Les avenants et annexes Les statistiques des contrats

    Contracts menu; "Partenariats RDC-CHINE / -UE / -USA / -CANADA / -RSA"; "Liste des ZEA"; "Coopératives minières"; "La dotation de 0,3% du CA".

  2. CONTRAT ENTRE LA GENERALE DES CARRIERES DET DES MINES S.A ET CONGO DONGFANG INTERNATIONAL MINING SARL RELATIF A LA CESSION TOTALE DU PE 527 ↗

    Checked 15 October 2026

    LA GENERALE DES CARRIERES ET DES MINES S.A. ; CONGO DONGFANG INTERNATIONAL MINING SARL

    Contract “N° 1546/12629/SG/GC/2015”, dated June 2015, PDF p.1, cover: the parties as printed, read from the page image. Register row 142 (CD/CM/GCM - CDM), signed 25/06/2015.

  3. CONTRAT DE CREATION DE SOCIETE ENTRE LA GENERALE DES CARRIERES ET DES MINES ET L'ENTREPRISE GENERALE MALTA FORREST DANS LE CADRE DE DEVELOPPEMENT DE CERTAINS GISEMENTS ↗

    Checked 15 October 2026

    LA GENERALE DES CARRIERES ET DES MINES ; L'ENTREPRISE GENERALE MALTA FORREST

    Contract “N° 642/6734/SG/GC/2004”, PDF p.1, cover: the parties as printed, read from the page image. Register row 58 (CD/CM/CMSK), signed 18/05/2004.

IPIS

  1. Open data, DR Congo (cod_mines_curated_all_opendata_p_ipis.csv) ↗

    Published May 2026 · Checked 5 October 2026

    While our previous geoserver is offline, you may access our open datasets on the artisanal mining sector through the following direct downloads:

    Open-data table of mine sites, file “cod_mines_curated_all_opendata_p_ipis.csv”, line 4502 (“vid” “4501”): “Kimbotela”, province “Haut-Katanga”, territory “Kipushi”, visit of “2019-05-15”, location origin “GPS”, “Cuivre” among its minerals, project “BGR”, source “Third-party”.

ITIE-RDC / EITI

  1. Contribution à la mobilisation des ressources domestiques au travers de l’amélioration de la gouvernance de la filière artisanale cuivre-cobalt ↗

    Published November 2025 · Checked 23 September 2026

    CDM et THOMAS sont les principaux acheteurs des produits de Kasulo.

    p.174, Table 23 “PE occupés par des sites miniers artisanaux dans le Haut-Katanga”, row “PE527 / KIMBOTELA / LIKASI”. · p.252, Annex II “LISTE DES SITES MINERS A SUIVRE”, under “HAUT-KATANGA”, row “2”: site “KIMBOTELA”, mining right “PE 527”.

  2. Rapport ITIE sur le secteur de l’exploitation minière artisanale et à petite échelle dans la chaine de valeur du cuivre-cobalt-zinc ↗

    Published March 2023 · Checked 23 September 2026

    la ZEA 786, à Kasulo, dans le secteur de Kolwezi Est dans le Lualaba

    Printed p.21 (PDF page index 20), Kasulo and Kinsuka ZEA; Annex 12 site fiches: Kinsuka/La Jeunesse p.199, Kasulo p.237, Biwaya/COMIALU p.242, Mutoshi/CMBRDSCOPS p.245, Kawama Shabara p.256, Kawama Papsy/CMEJL p.257.

Ministère des Mines de la RDC

  1. Sites d'exploitation artisanale et à petite échelle du cuivre et cobalt en 2025 ↗

    Published 2026 · Checked 30 September 2026

    Sites d'exploitation artisanale et à petite échelle du cuivre et cobalt en 2025

    Map layer of the 2025 list of sites, at the address “api.php/sites/geojson” that the page calls; feature “70”: name “Kimbotela”, province “Haut-Katanga”, territory “Kipushi”, title “527” of type “PE”, mineral “Cuivre”, state “Actif” at the evaluation of “2025-04-01”; the feature carries a point.

SAEMAPE Haut-Katanga / IDAK

  1. Cartographie des sites d'exploitation artisanale de fait dans le Haut-Katanga ↗

    after 2018 · Checked 24 September 2026

    The SAEMAPE provincial director's table gives named site coordinates, permit references and rights holders for MIDINGI and MILELE.

    PDF p.10, table “CARTOGRAPHIE DES SITES D’EXPLOITATATION ARTISANALE DE FAIT DANS LE HAUT-KATANGA”, row “28”: site “KIMBOTELA”, title “PE527”, latitude south “11°30’39,9’’”, longitude east “27°27’15,1’’”; the column “OBSERVATIONS” reads “Territoire de Kipushi”.