Mining site

KEY

KEY is a site of the mapping of de facto artisanal sites of Haut-Katanga by the provincial directorate of SAEMAPE, the artisanal mining service, in Kambove territory, on title PE 464. The mapping is a presentation whose file is dated 18 November 2019. It is also listed in IPIS’s open data (visit of 15 May 2019 for BGR’s project).

Evidence of commodities

site-specific copper

Location and title

Arrow keys move the map; the plus and minus keys zoom.
  • Approximate location: KEY (SAEMAPE)

    Why it is approximate: The mapping prints “10°51’39’’” south and “26°45’03’’” east for KEY, in a presentation whose file is dated 18 November 2019; it is not established as an individual working, a site centroid, a title boundary, or a current operating location.

    Reported coordinate
    10.86083° S · 26.75083° E
    Precision
    Converted from the degrees, minutes and seconds that the SAEMAPE Haut-Katanga mapping prints; the datum and point-collection method are not stated.
    Evidence as of
    after 2018
    Coordinate reference system
    Unstated in the source

    Cartographie des sites d'exploitation artisanale de fait dans le Haut-Katanga ↗SAEMAPE Haut-Katanga / IDAK

  • Approximate location: Key (IPIS)

    Why it is approximate: Recorded for Key at a visit of 15 May 2019 for BGR’s project; it is not established as an individual working, a site centroid, a title boundary, or a current operating location.

    Reported coordinate
    10.85650° S · 26.74500° E
    Precision
    Coordinate of IPIS’s open data, whose “location_origin” field reads “Approximation”; the datum is not stated.
    Evidence as of
    15 May 2019
    Coordinate reference system
    Unstated in the source

    Open data, DR Congo (cod_mines_curated_all_opendata_p_ipis.csv) ↗IPIS

See the site on the mining-sites map →
Reported mining title
PE 464
Mining-title holders
Gécamines

Connections

Reported means the cited source describes the relationship at its evidence date. Historical relationships refer to an earlier period. Announced agreements may not have been implemented. None of these labels confirms that trade continues today.

Mining-title holders

  • GécaminesProducer

Sources

Sources support the description and the individual connections below. Publication and checking dates belong to the evidence: when it was published, and when this Hub last read it.

6 sources

Cadastre Minier (CAMI)

  1. Registre des droits miniers et de carrières au 31 mars 2026 ↗

    Published May 2026 · Checked 1 October 2026

    EN COURS DE CESSION PARTIELLE

    Biwaya-related title rows: printed p.20 row 542 (PE 2605), p.30 row 1041 (PER 9687), p.33 row 1146 (PE 11229). Kamilombe-related rows remain in additionalLocators.

CTCPM

  1. Mining-Data warehouse – Contrats miniers ↗

    Checked 24 September 2026

    Les contrats de base Les avenants et annexes Les statistiques des contrats

    Contracts menu; "Partenariats RDC-CHINE / -UE / -USA / -CANADA / -RSA"; "Liste des ZEA"; "Coopératives minières"; "La dotation de 0,3% du CA".

  2. CONVENTION DE JOINT-VENTURE ENTRE LA GENERALE DES CARRIERES ET DES MINES S.A. ET MINALEX S.A.R.L RELATIVE A LA CREATION D'UNE JOINT-VENTURE POUR L'EXPLOITATION ET LE DEVELOPPEMENT DES GISEMENTS LOCALISES DANS LE PERIMETRE DES PE 2361, 464, 1072 DE GECAMINES S.A. ↗

    Checked 15 October 2026

    LA GENERALE DES CARRIERES ET DES MINES S.A. ; MINALEX S.A.R.L.

    Contract “N° 1594/2011/SG/GC/2016” (as the text layer reads it), dated June 2016, PDF p.1, cover: the parties as printed, read from the PDF’s text layer (OCR). Register row 218 (CD/CM/GCM - MINALEX SARL - JV), signed 16/06/2016.

  3. CONTRAT D'AMODIATION ENTRE LA GECAMINES S.A ET FRETIN CONSTRUCT SARL RELATIF AUX DROITS MINIERS ATTACHES AUX 3 CARRES DONT 2 COUVERTS PAR LE PE 464 ET 1 COUVERT PAR LE PE 1077 DU SITE DE KALABI DE GECAMINES S.A ↗

    Checked 15 October 2026

    LA GENERALE DES CARRIERES ET DES MINES S. A. ; FRETIN CONSTRUCT SARL

    Contract “N° 1679/12087/SG/GC/2017”, dated May 2017, PDF p.1, cover: the parties as printed, read from the PDF’s text layer (OCR). Register row 39 (CD/CM/JV GCM - FRETIN PE 464), signed 19/06/2017.

IPIS

  1. Open data, DR Congo (cod_mines_curated_all_opendata_p_ipis.csv) ↗

    Published May 2026 · Checked 5 October 2026

    While our previous geoserver is offline, you may access our open datasets on the artisanal mining sector through the following direct downloads:

    Open-data table of mine sites, file “cod_mines_curated_all_opendata_p_ipis.csv”, line 4504 (“vid” “4503”): “Key”, province “Haut-Katanga”, territory “Kambove”, visit of “2019-05-15”, location origin “Approximation”, “Cuivre” among its minerals, project “BGR”, source “Third-party”.

SAEMAPE Haut-Katanga / IDAK

  1. Cartographie des sites d'exploitation artisanale de fait dans le Haut-Katanga ↗

    after 2018 · Checked 24 September 2026

    The SAEMAPE provincial director's table gives named site coordinates, permit references and rights holders for MIDINGI and MILELE.

    PDF p.9, table “CARTOGRAPHIE DES SITES D’EXPLOITATATION ARTISANALE DE FAIT DANS LE HAUT-KATANGA”, row “09”: site “KEY”, title “PE 464”, latitude south “10°51’39’’”, longitude east “26°45’03’’”; the column “OBSERVATIONS” reads “Territoire de Kambove”.