Mining site

KATEKETA

KATEKETA is a site of the mapping of de facto artisanal sites of Haut-Katanga by the provincial directorate of SAEMAPE, the artisanal mining service, in Kambove territory, on title PE 2603. The mapping is a presentation whose file is dated 18 November 2019. It is also listed in ITIE-RDC’s study of 15 July 2025, the SAEMAPE list of ITIE-RDC’s report of March 2023 (heading “Non toléré”) and IPIS’s open data (visit of 15 May 2019 for BGR’s project). The 2025 study prints Kipushi as its location.

Evidence of commodities

site-specific copper

Location and title

Arrow keys move the map; the plus and minus keys zoom.
  • Field-reported or mapped site point

    Admitted coordinate
    11.14058° S · 26.97019° E
    Precision
    Converted from the degrees, minutes and seconds SAEMAPE prints; the datum is not stated. The printed distance of 81 km from Lubumbashi matches the coordinate. It does not mark a particular pit. Single source.
    Evidence as of
    after 2018

    IPIS publishes a GPS point 8 m away, most likely the same field reading published twice, so it does not count as a second source. A second IPIS record named Kateketa lies 38.9 km to the south-south-east; it is approximate, was not visited and is not this point.

    Cartographie des sites d'exploitation artisanale de fait dans le Haut-Katanga ↗SAEMAPE Haut-Katanga / IDAK

  • Approximate location: Kateketa (IPIS)

    Why it is approximate: Recorded for Kateketa at a visit of 15 May 2019 for BGR’s project; it is not established as an individual working, a site centroid, a title boundary, or a current operating location.

    Reported coordinate
    11.14053° S · 26.97025° E
    Precision
    Coordinate of IPIS’s open data, whose “location_origin” field reads “GPS”; the datum is not stated.
    Evidence as of
    15 May 2019
    Coordinate reference system
    Unstated in the source

    Open data, DR Congo (cod_mines_curated_all_opendata_p_ipis.csv) ↗IPIS

See the site on the mining-sites map →
Reported mining title
PE 2603
Mining-title holders
Gécamines

Connections

Reported means the cited source describes the relationship at its evidence date. Historical relationships refer to an earlier period. Announced agreements may not have been implemented. None of these labels confirms that trade continues today.

Mining-title holders

Initiatives and organisations at the site

  • EITI-DRC / ITIE-RDCInitiative

Sources

Sources support the description and the individual connections below. Publication and checking dates belong to the evidence: when it was published, and when this Hub last read it.

9 sources

Cadastre Minier (CAMI)

  1. Registre des droits miniers et de carrières au 31 mars 2026 ↗

    Published May 2026 · Checked 1 October 2026

    EN COURS DE CESSION PARTIELLE

    Biwaya-related title rows: printed p.20 row 542 (PE 2605), p.30 row 1041 (PER 9687), p.33 row 1146 (PE 11229). Kamilombe-related rows remain in additionalLocators.

CTCPM

  1. Mining-Data warehouse – Contrats miniers ↗

    Checked 24 September 2026

    Les contrats de base Les avenants et annexes Les statistiques des contrats

    Contracts menu; "Partenariats RDC-CHINE / -UE / -USA / -CANADA / -RSA"; "Liste des ZEA"; "Coopératives minières"; "La dotation de 0,3% du CA".

  2. CONTRAT D'AMODIATION ENTRE LA COMPAGNIE MINIERE DU SUD-KATANGA SPRL ET FRETIN CONSTRUCT SPRL RELATIF A L'AMODIATION PARTIELLE DES DROITS ATTACHES AU PE 2603 DE CMSK SPRL ↗

    Checked 15 October 2026

    La « Compagnie Minière du Sud-Katanga », en sigle « CMSK » Sprl ; La Société FRETIN CONSTRUCT sprl

    Contract (no number printed), PDF p.1, parties clause: the parties as printed, read from the page image. Register row 229 (CD/CM/CMSK - FRETIN CONSTRUCT - AMODIATION), signed 14/02/2014.

  3. ACTE DE CESSION ENTRE LA SOCIETE FRETIN CONSTRUCT SARL ET KANSHINSHI MINING SPRL RELATIF AU CONTRAT D'AMODIATION PARTIELLE DE DROITS ATTACHES AU PE 2603 ↗

    Checked 15 October 2026

    LA SOCIETE FRETIN CONSTRUCT SARL ; KANSHINSHI MINING SPRL

    Contract (no number printed), dated September 2014, PDF p.1, cover: the parties as printed, read from the page image. Register row 231 (CD/CM/FRETIN CONSTRUCT - KANSHINSHI MINING - CESSION), signed 12/09/2014.

IPIS

  1. Open data, DR Congo (cod_mines_curated_all_opendata_p_ipis.csv) ↗

    Published May 2026 · Checked 5 October 2026

    While our previous geoserver is offline, you may access our open datasets on the artisanal mining sector through the following direct downloads:

    CSV line 4487, visit of 15 May 2019: site “Kateketa”, territory “Kambove”, located by “GPS”; -11.14053278, 26.97025255. A second row named Kateketa lies 38.9 km to the south-south-east, located by “Approximation”. · Open-data table of mine sites, file “cod_mines_curated_all_opendata_p_ipis.csv”, line 4487 (“vid” “4486”): “Kateketa”, province “Haut-Katanga”, territory “Kambove”, visit of “2019-05-15”, location origin “GPS”, “Cuivre” among its minerals, project “BGR”, source “Third-party”.

ITIE-RDC

  1. Rapport de mission sur la sensibilisation des acteurs de l'EMAPE ↗

    Published December 2022 · Checked 15 October 2026

    Les ateliers de sensibilisation sur les sites ont ciblé entre autres, les Coopératives, les exploitants artisanaux, les négociants

    Mission report of December 2022 on copper, cobalt and zinc in Lualaba and Haut-Katanga: printed pp.13–17, sections 4.1.b and 4.2.b, the on-site awareness sessions, site by site.

ITIE-RDC / EITI

  1. Contribution à la mobilisation des ressources domestiques au travers de l’amélioration de la gouvernance de la filière artisanale cuivre-cobalt ↗

    Published November 2025 · Checked 23 September 2026

    CDM et THOMAS sont les principaux acheteurs des produits de Kasulo.

    p.174, Table 23 “PE occupés par des sites miniers artisanaux dans le Haut-Katanga”, rows “PE2603 / KATEKETA / LUISHA” and “PE2603 / KATEKETA / KIPUSHI”. · p.252, Annex II “LISTE DES SITES MINERS A SUIVRE”, under “HAUT-KATANGA”, a row with no number: site “Kateketa”.

  2. Rapport ITIE sur le secteur de l’exploitation minière artisanale et à petite échelle dans la chaine de valeur du cuivre-cobalt-zinc ↗

    Published March 2023 · Checked 23 September 2026

    la ZEA 786, à Kasulo, dans le secteur de Kolwezi Est dans le Lualaba

    p.271, Annex 13 “Liste des sites miniers artisanaux (SAEMAPE)”, column “HAUT KATANGA / Non toléré”: “KATEKETA”.

SAEMAPE Haut-Katanga / IDAK

  1. Cartographie des sites d'exploitation artisanale de fait dans le Haut-Katanga ↗

    after 2018 · Checked 24 September 2026

    The SAEMAPE provincial director's table gives named site coordinates, permit references and rights holders for MIDINGI and MILELE.

    PDF p.10, table of de facto artisanal sites, row 31: “KATEKETA | PE 2603 | 11°08’26,1’’ | 26°58’12,7’’ | GCM”, 81 km north-west of Lubumbashi, Kambove territory. · PDF p.10, table “CARTOGRAPHIE DES SITES D’EXPLOITATATION ARTISANALE DE FAIT DANS LE HAUT-KATANGA”, row “31”: site “KATEKETA”, title “PE 2603”, latitude south “11°08’26,1’’”, longitude east “26°58’12,7’’”; the column “OBSERVATIONS” reads “Territoire de Kambove”.